Drive Insured. It's the Law!
Covered! Not Covered!
Failure to insure can result in:
$$ Suspended Vehicle Registration
$$$ Registration Reinstatement Fee
Why You Should Get Covered by an Auto Liability Insurance Policy
State law requires you to be covered by an auto liability insurance policy if you own and operate a vehicle in Tennessee.
In 2017, uninsured drivers in Tennessee will pay fines and risk losing their vehicle registration if they are not covered by an auto liability insurance policy. A web-based program will verify insurance for all Tennessee drivers. These changes come as part of the James Lee Atwood Jr. Law.
The required minimum limits of your liability car insurance are:
(If you have a car loan or lease, your lender may require you to have collision and comprehensive coverage.)
- $25,000 for each injury or death per accident.
- $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident.
- $15,000 for property damage per accident.
Do You Have the Right Insurance Policy for the Type License Plate on Your Vehicle?
If your vehicle has a regular passenger or motorcycle license plate (anything other than a commercial tag), you must carry a policy as outlined above.
If your vehicle has a commercial license plate, that vehicle must be covered under a company general liability insurance plan.
- See more at: http://www.tn.gov/revenue/article/drive-insured-tn#sthash.2wTlvapi.HkrksXmV.dpuf